2005 AAAE Conference Awards Dinner May 27 – 6:00 p.m. La Mansion del Rio Hotel

Dr. Ed Osborne presided over the banquet

Guests, spouses, and other quests were introduced.

Memorial briefs were presented by AAAE faculty. The following individuals were recognized Willard Wolfe – Ohio State, William Drake - Cornell, W. Howard Martin – U. Conn, Earl H. Knebel – TAMU and Glenn Stevens – Penn State.

Poster presentation awards were given by Clark Harris 1st Greg Miller and Michael S. Retallick, Iowa State – Establishing an International Student Teaching Program in Agriculture 2nd

3rd Kyle McGregor, Tarleton State and Leanna Shores, Mineral Wells High School – Commodity Curriculum: Dairy in the 21st Century

Research Paper Presentation Awards given by Cary Trexler 1st Brian Myers and James Dyer, U of Florida – Effects of Investigative laboratory Instruction on Content Knowledge and Science Process Skill Achievement Across Learning Styles

2nd Kyle McGregor, Sarah Griffeth, Tiffany Wheat, and Jimmy Byrd, Tarleton State – "How Would You Like Your Visuals?" – Student Perceptions of the Use of Computer Generated Animation as Additional Visual Elaboration in Undergraduate Courses 3rd Rama Radhakrishna, Penn State – Influence of 4-H Program on Former 4-H Members' Career and Life Experiences

Alan A. Kahler Outstanding Dissertation Award presented by Robert Martin Todd Brashears, Texas Tech – Effects of Text, Audio/Visual, and Still Images as Asynchronous Instructional Deliversy Methods upon Cognition and Satisfaction of High School Agricultural Sciences Students.

Journal of Agricultural Education Author of the Year presented by Michael Swann JAE Vol 44 – **Winner:** Do agricultural leadership programs produce community leaders? A case study of the impact of an agricultural leadership program on the participants' community development. Kathleen Kelsey and Leah J. Wall. **First Runner-up**: Technology integration by agriscience teaching the teaching/learning process. Joe W. Kotrlick, Donna H. Redmann, and Bruce B. Douglas. **Second Runner-up**: Rural elementary students' understandings of science and agricultural education: Benchmarks related to meat and livestock. Deanna L. Meischen and Cary Trexler.

JAE Vol 45 – **Winner**: Effects of thinking aloud pair problem solving on the troubleshooting performance of undergraduate agriculture students in a power technology course. Michael L. Pate, George W. Wardlow and Donald M. Johnson. **First Runner-up**: An exploration of the outcomes of utilizing ill-structured problems in pre-service teacher

preparation. Anna L. Ball and Neil Knobloch. **Second Runner-up**: Female leadership in rural Florida FFA chapters. John C. Ricketts, Edward W. Osborne and Rick D. Rudd.

AAAE Life Membership Maynard Iverson and Wes Budke

AAAE Early Career Member presented by Greg Thompson Craig Edwards – Okalahoma State

AAAE Outstanding Agricultural Educator presented by Greg Thompson Larry Miller – The Ohio State

AAAE Fellow Recognition presented by Robert Martin Jimmy Cheek – U of Florida

AAAE members approved the 2005-06 budget.